Opening the gates for Wisdom

One need greater wisdom to define the word wisdom. To me – wisdom implies more holistic, harmonious, beyond the logical intelligence and insights.

I remember at the early stages of meditation, one stimulation for me was to improve my wisdom. I have seen enough books emphasizing that meditation improves wisdom! (So I was craving to seek this wisdom.!).

Today – I certainly recognize the true meaning of this word (though I would still struggle to explain it properly).

Wisdom is something comes from no-where. At deep meditations, when the mind is free from Lobha (Craving) & Dosha (Aversion), the Moha (Illusion) fades away. At that state, the mind is free from thoughts & emotions thus no perceptions or judgements. It is a very free state. (Pl note there is no-bliss at this state. It is free from bondage).

Wisdom – opens at that stage, from no-where. I never could recognize from where it comes (because my mind is not searching for anything at that state). But, some insights occur, which is unimaginable and perhaps beyond the explanation.

It is like, I read ten books on Climate Change to recognize its background information, logic, theories etc. etc. etc. And through these reading I gradually gather or generate a new insight. But at that meditative mind, I may reach the same insight (perhaps much much healthy, clear, peaceful, harmonious and broader one) just in a fraction of a second.

So, are we meditating to generate wisdom?

Yes and No.

Yes for the meditator in search of Nibbana. Through advance meditation (Vipassana), the meditator receives this wisdom of life and universe, wisdom of birth, death and rebirth (samsara) and path to get away from that cycle.

But, certain ‘No’ for person seeking materialistic wisdom. Dont try this. That will distract you from true merit of meditation and certainly take you back to the vicious cycle!

Leave a comment